Supreme Court delivers Trump administration a win on ‘travel ban’

Kevin Daley, DCNF DCNF

WASHINGTON, DC – JANUARY 29: Demonstrators gather near The White House to protest President Donald Trump’s travel ban on seven Muslim countries on January 29, 2017 in Washington, DC. President Trump signed the controversial executive order that halted refugees and residents from predominantly Muslim countries from entering the United States. (Photo by Zach Gibson/Getty Images)

A five justice majority of the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the latest iteration of President Donald Trump’s travel sanctions Tuesday.

Chief Justice John Roberts wrote the opinion, joined by Justices Anthony Kennedy, Clarence Thomas, Samuel Alito, and Neil Gorsuch.

“The president has lawfully exercised the broad discretion granted to him under [federal law],” Roberts wrote.

The Court also rejected the plaintiff’s constitutional argument, which alleged the policy’s true purpose was to disparage Islam, in violation of the First Amendment.

The current ban is imposed to varying degrees against nationals from Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen Breyer, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan dissented.

This is breaking news. Check back for updates. 

Follow Kevin on Twitter

Send tips to [email protected].

For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact [email protected]

Powered by Topple


Latest Articles