Judge blocks Trump ban on immigrants from Muslim countries, but lets two nations off the hook

A Hawaii federal judge has extended his order to halt President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban.

…but U.S. District Judge Derrick Watson’s ruling applies only to the six Muslim-majority countries on the list, according to CBS News.

Restrictions against North Korea and Venezuela were not affected.

AP Travel Ban Lawsuit Hawaii
(AP Photo/Caleb Jones, File)

The countries included in the ruling are Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.

These Middle Eastern countries are known for being hotbeds of radical Islamic terrorism and there are concerns about proper screening of travelers.

Ironically, of the six Muslim-majority countries, Iran, Syria, Libya and Yemen refuse entry to travelers holding passports or travel documents indicating they have been to Israel.

They do not even allow Israeli nationals to pass through their countries, even if the traveler is not expected to leave the aircraft.

Watson, appointed by former President Barack Obama, said Trump’s proposed ban failed to show nationality alone makes a person a greater security risk, CBS News reported.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions defended the Trump administration’s travel ban Wednesday before the Senate Judiciary Committee.

“The president’s executive order is an important step to ensuring that we know who is coming into our country,” Sessions said. “It is a lawful, necessary order that we are proud to defend and indeed most may not know the Supreme Court has already vacated one court’s injunction against that order and we are confident we’ll prevail as time goes by in the Supreme Court.”

The Justice Department is expected to appeal the decision to the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals.


Please help us! If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to BPR to help us fight them. Now is the time. Truth has never been more critical!

Success! Thank you for donating. Please share BPR content to help combat the lies.
Tom Tillison


We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.


Scroll down for non-member comments or join our insider conversations by becoming a member. We'd love to have you!

Latest Articles