Empowered by Trump, these Republican states are making moves to defund sanctuary cities

Feeling empowered by the new Trump administration, several Republican states are moving to defund sanctuary cities.

It comes after President Donald Trump signed an executive order to cut funding from cities that provide sanctuary to illegal aliens by refusing to work with immigration officers to deport them.

The states introducing such legislation include Michigan, Ohio, Florida, North Carolina, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Idaho, Texas and Iowa, Fox News reported.

Currently, local law enforcement agencies are not compelled to cooperate with detention requests from U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement but the new legislation, if adopted, changes that.

The laws use state grant funds as leverage to push the cities to comply with ICE detainers.

Such a law was passed by the Texas Senate last week and now moves to the House. If it is approved it goes to Gov. Greg Abbott to be signed into law.

Texas Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick explained the legislation to “Fox & friends Weekend.”

“Our sanctuary city bill that we did pass this week will deny funding to our cities that refuse to follow the Constitution and the law,” he said.

“Not only will we deny funds but we have in our bill the opportunity for civil penalties and criminal penalties,” he said.

Wake up right! Receive our free morning news blast HERE

Powered by Topple

Carmine Sabia


Latest Articles