Boehner’s revenge: Payback has begun for members who opposed speaker

The House conservatives who mounted a very public, but doomed-to-fail bid to oust House speaker John Boehner are already paying the price.

johnboehner0107newAfter overcoming dissenters in his own party, Boehner won the speakership for a third term on Tuesday and lost little time exacting revenge. By Tuesday evening two Florida Republicans who had opposed him – Reps. Daniel Webster and Richard Nugent — had lost their seats on the powerful House Rules Committee.

And the roiling is going to continue for some time, according to Politico.

Boehner, an Ohio Republican, had particularly enraged conservative Republicans by the passage during the lame-duck session of the continuing resolution-omnibus spending bill known as the “cromnibus.”

According to Politico, Boehner and his allies are using the rolls of who supported the “cromnibus” as a starting point. The members who offered themselves as replacements for Boehner, including Florida Rep. Daniel Webster, and those who voted against Boehner in the oral vote Tuesday, will be on the list for retaliation.

“This is one of those cases where the fire has only gotten more intense,” on Republican lawmaker told Politico. “More attention has been brought to this now. It’s not going to go away.”

For their part, the dissenters are likely to keep fighting, regardless of the consequences.

Rep. Tim Huelskamp, R-Kan., lost his seat on the Agriculture Committee in 2012 after another anti-Boehner vote. He was denied a chance to regain it, Politico reported.

“I am already hearing from my colleagues, and myself, about retaliation against those who voted their conscience, their constituents, their principles, to change the status quo,” Huelskamp said. “My colleagues fully expect that. That’s what they expect out of this leadership team.”

Here is the list of Republicans who opposed Boehner, according to the Daily Caller.

Rep. Justin Amash voted for Jim Jordan

Rep. Brian Babin voted for present

Rep. Rod Blum voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Dave Brat voted for Jeff Duncan

Rep. Jim Bridenstine voted for Louie Gohmert

Rep. Curt Clawson voted for Rand Paul

Rep. Scott DesJarlais voted for Jim Jorda

Rep. Jeff Duncan voted for Trey Gowdy

Rep. Scott Garrett voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Chris Gibson voted for Kevin McCarthy

Rep. Louie Gohmert voted for Louie Gohmert

Rep. Paul Gosar voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Tim Huelskamp voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Walter Jones voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Steve King voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Thomas Massie voted for Ted Yoho

Rep. Mark Meadows voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Rich Nugent voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Gary Palmer voted for Jeff Sessions

Rep. Bill Posey voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Scott Rigell voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Marlin Stutzman voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Randy Weber voted for Gohmert

Rep. Daniel Webster voted for Daniel Webster

Rep. Ted Yoho voted for Ted Yoho


Please help us! If you are fed up with letting radical big tech execs, phony fact-checkers, tyrannical liberals and a lying mainstream media have unprecedented power over your news please consider making a donation to BPR to help us fight them. Now is the time. Truth has never been more critical!

Success! Thank you for donating. Please share BPR content to help combat the lies.


We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, profanity, vulgarity, doxing, or discourteous behavior. If a comment is spam, instead of replying to it please click the ∨ icon below and to the right of that comment. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain fruitful conversation.

PLEASE JOIN OUR NEW COMMENT SYSTEM! We love hearing from our readers and invite you to join us for feedback and great conversation. If you've commented with us before, we'll need you to re-input your email address for this. The public will not see it and we do not share it.

Latest Articles