Powered by Topple

The 25 GOP senators that caved on Obamacare funding vote

Powered by Topple

Led by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell and Sen. John McCain 25 Republican senators voted for cloture on Friday, ending debate on funding the government and dashing hopes to defund Obamacare.

Republican leaders Senator Mitch McConnell and John Boehner
McConnel and Boehner. Photo credit www.dailykos.com

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid needed 60 votes to stop the debate, allowing a simple majority to approve Obamacare funding.

Once the 60-vote threshold was met, Reid easily removed the “Full Faith and Credit Act” and language that would have defunded Obamacare, according to Breitbart.

With Capitol switchboards buzzing as constituents spoke out, Republicans could have followed the will of the people, but instead these 25 voted with Democrats, with asterisks next to those up for re-election in 2014:

  • Lamar Alexander, Tennessee*
  • Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire
  • John Barrasso, Wyoming
  • Roy Blunt, Missouri
  • John Boozman, Arkansas
  • Richard Burr, North Carolina
  • Saxby Chambliss, Georgia
  • Jeff Chiesa, New Jersey
  • Daniel Coats, Indiana
  • Tom Coburn, Oklahoma
  • Thad Cochran, Mississippi*
  • Susan Collins, Maine*
  • Bob Corker, Tennessee
  • John Cornyn, Texas*
  • Lindsey Graham, South Carolina*
  • John Hoeven, North Dakota
  • Johnny Isakson, Georgia
  • Mike Johanns, Nebraska
  • Mark Kirk, Illinois
  • Ron Johnson, Wisconsin
  • John McCain, Arizona
  • Mitch McConnell, Kentucky*
  • Lisa Murkowski, Alaska
  • John Thune, South Dakota
  • Roger Wicker, Mississippi

Two Republican senators did not vote. Sen. Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., tweeted on Thursday that he didn’t support cloture, but he was in Arizona for his 20-year-old son’s wedding, according to The Arizona Republic.

Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, who was attending his granddaughter’s wedding, said he would have voted for cloture, according to CNS News.

With only a simple majority needed, Reid’s amendment funding Obamacare passed on a party-line vote, with all 54 Democrats voting for it, and all 44 Republicans present voting against it.

[poll id=”105″]


Latest Articles